{ Banner Image }

USDA Designates 72 Michigan Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Click to Share Share  |  Twitter Facebook
Liza C. Moore
Foster Swift Agricultural Law Update
July 2012

On July 2, 2012, the USDA announced the designation of 72 counties in Michigan as primary disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by severe weather in January 1 – May 11, 2012. These counties include:

Alcona, Alger, Allegan, Alpena, Antrim, Arenac, Barry, Bay, Benzie, Berrien, Cass, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Clare, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Eaton, Emmet, Genesee, Gladwin, Grand Traverse, Hillsdale, Huron, Ingham, Ionia, Iosco, Iron, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau, Lenawee, Livingston, Luce, Mackinac, Macomb, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Mecosta, Menominee, Midland, Missaukee, Monroe, Montcalm, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newago, Oakland, Oceana, Ogemaw, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Ottawa, Presque Isle, Roscommon, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, Shiawassee, Tuscola, Van Buren, Washtenaw, Wayne, Wexford

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:

Baraga, Branch, Calhoun, Clinton, Gogebic, Gratiot, Houghton, Isabella, Ontonagon, Saginaw

Contact your local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for programs available for farmers and ranchers in primary disaster areas.