{ Banner Image }

Michigan Bovine Tuberculosis Risk Classification Zones Amended

Click to Share Share  |  Twitter Facebook
Liza C. Moore
Foster Swift Agricultural Law Update
December 2011

On September 14, 2011, USDA APHIS announced that it would amend the boundaries of the bovine tuberculosis risk classification zones for Michigan.  Fifty-seven counties would now meet the requirements for accredited-free status.  The interim rule reclassifies 55 counties from modified accredited advanced status to accredited-free status.  Presque Isle County will be reclassified from modified accredited to modified accredited advanced.  Iosco and Ogemaw Counties will be reclassified as accredited-free.  Modified accredited status imposes various requirements for tuberculosis testing of cattle.  Reclassification to accredited-free removes all movement restrictions, and reclassification from modified accredited to modified accredited advanced reduces requirements.  The interim rule is effective September 14, 2011.   

View the Federal Register for the interim rule: www.regulations.gov.