As you likely know, Michigan's new texting ban went into effect July 1, 2010. The new law prohibits reading, manually typing, and sending a text message on a "wireless 2-way communication device" located in a person's hand or lap while operating a motor vehicle that is moving on a Michigan highway or street.
A "wireless 2-way communication device" does not include navigation or global positioning systems affixed to the motor vehicle.
Additionally, there are several exceptions to the ban. The following activities are explicitly not prohibited by the new law:
The penalty for the first offense carries a $100.00 fine, and a $200.00 fine for second and subsequent offenses.
If you have questions about the texting ban, feel free to contact any member of Foster Swift’s Information Technology team.